Welcome New Board Members!

The CCL Board of Directors is composed of librarians who volunteer their time, talents and knowledge to support the mission of CCL, in service to all our libraries.  At CCL’s annual retreat in July, we welcomed several new members to the Board.

  1. Brian Lym, Napa Valley College
    CCL Northeast Regional Representative
  2. Elnora Kelly Tayag, College of San Mateo
    CCL Southwest Bay Regional Representative
  3. Carina Love, Cuesta College
    CCL West Central Regional Representative
  4. Alison Steinberg Gurganus, Mesa College
    CCL San Diego/Imperial Regional Representative

We also welcomed three new Ex-Officio members to the Board:

  1. Tamara Weintraub, Palomar College
    Chair, Electronic Access and Resources Committee (CCL-EAR)
  2. Jeff Karlsen, Sacramento City College
    Chair, LSP Governance Committee
  3. Amy Beadle, Consortium Director 
    Community College League LIaison

Many thanks to outgoing board members Steve Hunt (Santa Monica College ) and Van Rider (Antelope Valley College) for their years of dedicated service to the CCL organization. Steve was the Chair of CCL-EAR Committee which, among other things, reviews products for possible inclusion in our consortium purchasing program. Van served as a CCL regional representative and was a key contributor to the recent update of the ASCCC Paper: The Role of the Library Faculty in the CA Community Colleges.

I also want to thank our Past President, Doug Achterman (Gavilan College), for his sound leadership and lasting contributions to CCL. His unwavering commitment to our libraries resulted in significant positive change; playing a pivotal role in the procurement and implementation of our new shared library system. While his tenure on the CCL Board has ended, Doug remains on the LSP Shared Governance Committee as well as the LSP Task Force.

Last, but not least, congratulations to Eric Hanson (Glendale Community College) on his appointment as CCL’s President Elect!  I look forward to working with Eric in this capacity throughout the academic year. He will assume the role of CCL President in July 2021.

I hope everyone is having a good fall term!

Stay healthy… Stay safe…

Dr. Leslie Tirapelle
President, Council of Chief Librarians
Dean, Library & Distance Education
Pasadena City College